Skip to content

This is the Stuff…..

April 2, 2011

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the song, This is the Stuff by Francessca Batestelli.  this song is filled with so much truth and every time i hear it, i feel like God is speaking right to my heart.

You see, i often sweat the small stuff.

I am the mommy who gets tense when i walk through the house and see toys on the floor when i just cleaned them up 5 minutes ago.

I am the mommy who gets a bit tense when my plans have to change for whatever reason.

I am also the mommy who gets a bit frazzled when we have a lot of appointments in one week, causing our school days and home life to be a bit crazy.

I have heard this song many, many times, but it wasn’t until this week that it finally sunk in with me.

Savannah had her bottom wisdom teeth pulled out a week ago this past Thursday, and was supposed to be all healed up within a few days.  Well, a week later, she was still experiencing a lot of pain on the right side.

We went in for her follow-up appointment this past Thursday, only to find out that she had a pocket of infection on the right side, which was causing the pain and swelling.

They had to reopen the healed area (not fun for poor Savannah) and put “packing” down in there to help it heal from the inside out.  the packing was a little strip of “guaze-like” stuff that was filled with medication to help heal and dry out that area.

We then find out that we needed to come back again on friday to have the packing changed.  This would mean not only that we’d have another 25 minute drive to the oral surgeon, but i’d also have to find childcare for my 4 youngest…again.

God provided childcare in the form of a dear friend and we headed off to the oral surgeon’s again on friday, only to find out that we’d need to come back again on Monday to have the final packing taken out.

more child care.  more driving.

Again, God provided someone to care for my 4 youngest this coming Monday…He always provides.

 In my heart, i was feeling very frustrated over all of this.  I was tired of all the running around.  tired of being gone all morning when i could’ve been doing school.  and i was tired of having to line up childcare.

And then i heard this song on Thursday afternoon, and that’s when it hit me. 

God uses the “stuff” in our lives to refine us.

It’s the daily grind, the constant care of our kids, the cleaning of our home, the wiping noses and wiping little bums…this is the stuff that God uses to refine our hearts.

this is the stuff God uses to show His love to our kids. 

 it’s in the faithful “doing” of the daily grind that we are able to live out God’s love before our kids.

This is the stuff. Plain and simple.

On friday, I had the pleasure of having a wonderul heart-to-heart conversation with my precious Savannah as we drove to the oral surgeon’s office.

Had we not had to go back on Friday, i may not have had this conversation with her.  But obviously, God had it all planned out.  He knew what was best.

Because He knows that this is the stuff He usues.

This Is The Stuff :
I lost my keys in the great unknown
And call me please ‘Cuz I can’t find my phone

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

45 in a 35
Sirens and fines while I’m running behind
Whoa

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

So break me of impatience
Conquer my frustrations
I’ve got a new appreciation
It’s not the end of the world
Oh Oh Oh

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff
Someone save me
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
And I’ve gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

Oh Oh Oh Oh
This is the stuff You use

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

