Skip to content

Implementing exercise…no more excuses!!

April 1, 2011

 

Christin over at Joyful Mothering has once again offered us mommy’s a new challenge to begin implementing next week.

Christin is encouraging mom’s to pick one thing from their schedule/routine that they’ve been neglecting, and implement that one thing next week.  She encouraged us to pick something that would benefit our families and enable us to better serve them.

I immediately though of one thing: EXERCISE.

I know.  You’re probably wondering how on earth implementing exercise will benefit my family, right?

Well, for me, when i exercise first thing in the morning, it benefits me(and my family) in many ways.

First of all, when i  make myself get up early and hop on the treadmill, i am beginning my day with something that wakes me up and prepares me for what follows, my time with the Lord.

Not only that, but the days that i chose to exercise i am much more energetic and am more motivated to stick to my schedule.  don’t ask me why, but i just am.

Exercise helps me to feel better about myself, knowing that i started my day by doing something that is helping me get stronger and making me more able to keep up with these sweet kids of mine.

When i exercise, i am more aware of what i eat and want to make sure that i am making healthy food choices…the last thing i want to do is make foolish food choices, knowing that i was up at 5 a.m. exercising, in order to maintain my weight.  it’s bad enough getting up at 5 a.m. (i really think it’s against the law to get up that early, don’t you?) but to work that hard at exercising just to eat more calories than i burned…no thank you!

I do know that a couple of months back i was exercising regularly and i felt so good.  i was following my routine, feeling good about myself, and was having regular times in the Word. 

and then we had sickness in the house and the very first thing i let go was exercise.   i began sleeping in as late as i could, which also caused me to miss many quiet times with the Lord.   from there, i began letting other things on the schedule go as well, leaving our home a dirty mess most of the time.

I was so excited to hear from Christin and am so thankful to God for bringing this lovely woman of God into my life.  She has been such a blessing to me through her blog and she has motivated me to want to grow as a godly woman and mommy.

I had already been working on trying to get back on track with our schedule, but wasn’t sure where to start….i was a bit overwhelmed to be honest. 

then i heard from Christin today and i totally knew that God had used her, once again, to challenge me to get back on track.

i want to clarify here that i am not promoting schedules…i know that schedules just don’t work for some people.  but i do know that they work for me….

having a plan,a loose flexible plan, which is what my schedule is, helps me to better care for my family.  it gives our home some much needed structure, which helps my kids know what to expect. 

So, come Monday morning at 5 a.m., i will be on my handy dandy treadmill rocking out to Third Day and thanking God for the gift of another day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg permalink
    April 2, 2011 6:11 am

    You are the best! I love you very much and I am thankful to God for giving me you. Tax season is almost over. Thank you for being very supportive.

  2. April 7, 2011 7:08 am

    Patty,
    Exercise is important for me, too! I haven’t been faithful about keeping up on it either. And like you said, it helps keep energy levels up and motivation high! It’s those wonderful endorphins, aka “The Happy Drug”. 🙂

    How did you do this week? I hope you will share with us!! I didn’t expect people to link up until the end of the challenge, so I didn’t know you wrote this until today!

    And thank you so much for your kind, encouraging words, Patty. You greatly bless me, friend.

  3. April 7, 2011 11:39 am

    Exercise is so important, and it’s one thing that I don’t have on my schedule, although I know I should make time for! I’m working on my early mornings too – except I’m focusing on 6am….I don’t think my alarm clock has 5am on it!!

  4. April 8, 2011 7:20 am

    I, too, need to get that back into my routine. My husband once told me it was important to him that it be in my routine because not only was I happier and had more energy, but it ensured that I was healthier and would be around longer and stay fit to do things with the kid and him. That really checked my heart and made me realize how important it is for us to take good care of ourselves, not just our family.

  5. April 8, 2011 8:56 am

    Exercise will be one of the next things I add after I can get in the habit of getting myself up!

Leave a Reply

