Skip to content

My Testimony….

March 27, 2011

I was recently asked to share my testimony, and decided to share it on here as well.  As i typed it up, I was so thankful and aware of God’s  amazing faithfulness in my life…….

I  can’t really pinpoint a specific date that I came to know Jesus, it has been more like a series of events that has led me to where I am today.

My first introduction to church was in fifth grade when I was invited to church through the bus ministry of the local First Assembly of God church.   For many weeks, the bus picked me up every Sunday, until eventually my parents decided to come and see what this “church stuff” was about.  It didn’t take long until both of my parents became believers and we began going to church as a family.

Though I had a love for Christ at that time, I didn’t really own my faith.  I went through high school  doing what was right out of fear of disappointing my parents, rather than a healthy fear and reverence for God.

I went to Bible College under the pretense of wanting to be used by God, but really it was a time of parties, immoral relationships, and living life my way.  As I think back to that time, the one thing that stands out to me is my dad’s persistence in telling me about God’s love and making it clear that living life my way would never bring lasting happiness.  Though I didn’t heed his input much then, it was always there in the back of my mind…..I now see that as God’s grace in my life.

Fast-forward a few years, and I was a single mom living in the Chicago area, when some friends invited me to their church, where I happened to become close friends with the pastor’s daughter….another work of God’s grace in my life.  I distinctly remember sitting in service one Sunday morning and as the worship music played, I couldn’t stop the tears.   God spoke to my heart that day and assured me that He is all I need.  He helped me to see that He would never leave me and that His love was life-giving and life-changing.  It was at that time that I fully surrendered my life to Him.

The years following were filled with meeting and marrying my wonderful husband, having 4 more babies, and growing in my knowledge of Christ.  But God wasn’t done with me yet……

In August of 2007, my dad, then only 58 years old, was moved into a nursing home due to early onset Alzheimer’s disease.  I went through months of being angry with God and questioning “why” he would allow this to happen.  I spent many hours crying and grieving the loss of this wonderful man whom I adored.

It was during this season of my life when God really brought me to my knees.  He used my dad’s illness to reveal his Sovereignty to me.  You see, even though I knew and loved God, I hadn’t really been trusting him with my life.   Without even realizing it, I had been hanging onto everyone and everything in my life, thinking that I had to, because if I didn’t something bad might happen.

But my dad’s illness was something I couldn’t control, and I hated that.  But God, in his kindness, was very patient with me.  A friend encouraged me to read Trusting God by Jerry Bridges, and God used that book to literally change my life.  He used that book to help me both see and understand His Sovereignty, and it was through that book that I learned how to let go of things and trust God…for everything, even my dad’s health.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 8:34 pm

    What a wonderful testimony of God’s faithfulness and leading you to salvation. I can’t imagine how hard it is to see your Dad go through what he is going through. How wonderful to have those memories of him turning your heart to Christ.

    Thank you for sharing your testimony, Patty! I received an email to write mine up, too. Maybe I’ll even share mine on my blog as you did. I wonder if we are going to share these before the congregation…of that I’m a little afraid! 🙂

    I’m thankful for how we are growing in friendship as sisters in Christ. 🙂

  2. March 29, 2011 1:15 pm

    Thanks for sharing! It is a joy to read about God’s work in your life.

Leave a Reply

