Skip to content

planting the seed….

March 16, 2011

i’ve been hearing it  a lot lately and can’t seem to get it out of my mind:

God calls us to be faithful.  period.

He doesn’t call me to “fix” my kids.  not at all.  He calls me to love them and encourage them. 

 He calls me to plant the seed and to leave the rest up to Him.

But that’s hard for me.  really hard.

i am tempted to want microwave results.

i worry that if i don’t teach them everything in exactly the right way (whatever that is) i will have failed.

i can lay in bed at the end of the day and wish that i’d handled things differently that day.  i can wish that i had spent my time better or smiled more at my kids.

but what i should be doing is asking myself, “was i faithful with what God has given me today?”

that doesn’t mean that i did everything ‘right”. 

that doesn’t mean that i didn’t sin against my kids that day or that i accomplished everything on my To-Do list.

No.  What it means is this; it means that i did my best to honor God in my parenting, in my marriage, in my friendships….in whatever God has given to me, i did my best.

Doing my best doesn’t mean i did it perfectly.  Doing my best doesn’t mean it’s all about me. 

It means that i trusted in the One who’s power is made perfect in MY weakness.

God doesn’t expect perfection from me…if i was perfect, I wouldn’t need a Savior.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 6:03 am

    Thank you for this reminder, Patty. 🙂

  2. March 16, 2011 1:34 pm

    You stole the words right out of my mouth, Sandra! 🙂 Thank you for reminding me of this truth today Patty!

Leave a Reply

