Skip to content

Where does my help come from?

February 12, 2011

It’s easy for me to go through my day, day after day, forgetting Where my help comes from.  I try to manage on my own, thinking that I have to get it all done.  I have to make everybody happy.   I have to reach the hearts of these kids.

I can easily find myself wondering how to best train this child and how to train that child–because they really are all different–and then find myself in despair when I can’t come up with the solution.

Sadly enough, my days can more often be about “I” than about God.

 

Psalm 121

 1 I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
   where does my help come from?
2 My help comes from the LORD,
   the Maker of heaven and earth.

 3 He will not let your foot slip—
   he who watches over you will not slumber;
4 indeed, he who watches over Israel
   will neither slumber nor sleep.

 5 The LORD watches over you—
   the LORD is your shade at your right hand;
6 the sun will not harm you by day,
   nor the moon by night. 7 The LORD will keep you from all harm—
   he will watch over your life;
8 the LORD will watch over your coming and going
   both now and forevermore.

 

Psalm 121 tells us that our help comes from the Lord.  nowhere in that passage does it say that our help comes from “I”.

In fact, not only does this passage say that our help comes from the Lord, but it goes on to say that He will not sleep or slumber….

therefore, his help is always available.

 

my heart has been heavy lately with the realization that i need more of Him and less of me in my life…

in the way i think,

 in the way i talk,

 and in the way i parent my sweet kids.

i want and need to be more aware of God’s presence in my life.  His Word promises that He is an ever present help in trouble, the shade at my right hand.

and yet, i go through my days not accessing the grace that is available to me.

  it’s there. 

 it’s a gift ,

 free for the taking.

and it pleases Him to see me receiving this gift of grace.

when i am relying on my own strength, my own abilities, i am basically saying that i don’t need God.

that i can do just fine on my own.

 

John 15:5-8

5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6 If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. 7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

 

apart from Him, i can do nothing.

and yet i try.

i am so thankful that God is patient with me. 

 that even when i neglect His promises and neglect to receive the grace that He offers me new everyday, He is patient.

that even when i am faithless, He is faithful.

 

Lord, remind me daily, hourly, that i am yours.  remind me that my help comes from you, the maker of Heaven and earth.  that all i have comes from you.  remind me that apart from you, i can do nothing, and that you long to be my strength, for in my weakness your power shines through and is made perfect.  i need these reminders, all day, everyday.

thank you, Lord, for being pateint with me and for not casting me away from your presence, even when i fail to receive your free gift of grace.

~patty

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    February 12, 2011 1:13 pm

    Once again, you are so right and so in tune with what is lacking in our lives! I use your posting to help me as they help you….you are so where I am…..I am so often all about me and what I can accomplish, not about Him and what He can help me with and what He can guide me through. Your postings help me to find my way back to HIM, thank you!

Leave a Reply

