Skip to content

listen…hear

February 2, 2011

Isaiah 55:2-5 (English Standard Version)

2(A) Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,
   and your labor for that which does not satisfy?
Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good,
   and delight yourselves in rich food.
3Incline your ear, and come to me;
   (B) hear, that your soul may live;

 

i love it when God uses one thing after another, little by little to get my attention.

i have been feeling a bit spiritually dry lately.  still very aware of God’s love, yet not quite “in tune” with God, so to speak.

God has been using my daily readings in One Thousand Gifts to slowly begin a new work in my heart.

not only is he helping me to see grace all around me, but he is using this book to call me to Him…closer to him.

as i was reading Isaiah this morning, God used the above passage to speak right to my heart.

i felt that God used this passage to show me that i can often go after things that don’t satisfy…..they may seem to satisfy at the time, but those things don’t bring lasting satisfaction.

“listen diligently to me……”  

“Incline your ear, and come to me, hear, that your soul may live”

listen.  God is calling me to listen.  when i stop and think about it, i’m not too good at just listening to God.

sure, i have my quiet times.  i read the Word.  i read soul feeding books like One Thousand Gifts.  but i don’t always take the time to listen.

i set aside the time to be with the Lord, but if i’m honest with myself, that time is often filled with me watching the clock.  making sure that i’m not going over on my time.  my time.

but what about the fact, the truth actually, that my time is not really mine to begin with…it’s His.

He has given me time….it’s up to me how i use it. 

i realized this morning that when i rush through my quiet time, i am missing out on hearing Him. 

when i am quick to move on to the next thing, i am missing out on hearing Him.

i need him.  desperately.  every moment of every day. but how can i expect to hear from Him if i’m not willing to listen.

“Incline your ear, and come to me, hear, that your soul may live….”

 only once i am willing to incline my ear and listen will my soul truly live.  only then will i be in tune with God.  only then will i hear that still small voice…….

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

