Skip to content

how bad do i want it?

January 22, 2011

God uses the simplest things to get my attention and teach me a lesson at the same time.

many of you may remember my weight loss journey last year and how i lost 28 pounds…..it took me a long time to work up to even TRYING to lose the weight. 

i had to finally get to the point to where i wanted it bad enough to do something about it…to work for it.

and work i did.  i disciplined myself, and with God’s help i was able to lose the weight.

  i was very motivated by seeing the scale go down week after week….it motivated me to keep on going, and in the end, i was grateful for the outcome.

right now i am doing a 4 week dairy elimanation diet to see if dairy is to blame for some symptoms i’ve been having for quite some time. 

my dr. wanted me to do this diet a while ago, but i didn’t do it.

{i didn’t want to feel better badly enough to do something about it.}

 

i have finally come to the point,once again, where i want to feel better badly enough that i’m willing to work for it.

i think this can  apply in my spiritual life as well.

i can often find myself wanting to grow in a certain area, or wanting to overcome a particular struggle with sin, yet i don’t do anything about it.

i complain about my stagnant condition…yet i don’t do anything about it.

why is that?

 

{because i don’t want the change badly enough to do something about it.}

 

i need to finally come the point where i want the growth so badly that i am willing to work at cultivating change in that area.

i need to want the change badly enough that i am praying about it constantly and trusting God to help me grow in this area.

i need to allow God to grow me and not fight the change trying to take place with in me…even when it hurts. 

 because change is uncomfortable. 

and it even hurts sometimes.

~Hebrews 12:11
No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

 

how sweet of God to help me to see this comparison and to help me to see that i can cultivate change.

  if i can trust Him to help me discipline myself to eat differently, i can most definitely trust Him to help me grow and change. 

afterall, he delights in giving good things to his children and what better thing could he give me than the gift of being more like him?

 

  

  

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 8:18 pm

    Very helpful comparison. It’s one thing to want to change in a certain area, but it’s a whole different thing to be truly convicted of our sin to the point where we are asking the Lord to help us change, willing to do the hard work of turning from our sin and seeking the Lord to help us grow in godliness.

    May the Lord show you much grace as you trust him to help you change and grow in godliness.

Leave a Reply

