Skip to content

The Shepherd’s Praise…..

December 28, 2010

in my quiet time this morning, i read a devotional out of Charles Spurgeon’s Strengthen My Spirit .  It was so eye opening to me that i wanted to share some of it with you.

“and the shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things that they had heard and seen, as it was told unto them.  ~ Luke 2:20

One point for which they (the shepherds) praised God was the agreement between what they had heard and what they had seen.  Observe the last sentence: “as it was told unto them.”   Have you not found the gospel to be in yourselves just what the Bible said it would be?  Jesus said he would give you rest–have you not enjoyed the sweetest peace in him?  He said you should have joy and comfort and life through believing in Him–have you not received all these?  Are not his ways, ways of pleasantness, and His paths, paths of peace?  I have found Christ sweeter than his servants ever said he was.  i looked upon His likeness as they painted it, but it was merely a daub compared with himself: for the King in his beauty outshines all imaginable loveliness.  Surely what we have “seen” keeps pace with, no, far exceeds, what we have “heard”.  Let us then glorify and praise God for a Savior so precious and so satisfying.

as i read this, i was in awe.  in awe of the fact that all that Spurgeon says here is so very true.  I, myself, have found Christ sweeter than His servants ever said he was.  knowing this sweet Jesus has convinced me that he is for sure sweeter than anything i have ever been told, than anything i have ever read about him.

i have tasted and seen that He is good.  i have experienced the peace that surpasses all understanding.  i have walked through the valley of the shadow of death and have feared no evil, for his rod and staff, they have comforted me.

i love the last 2 lines of this devotional:

Surely what we have “seen” keeps pace with, no, far exceeds, what we have “heard”.  Let us then glorify and praise God for a Savior so precious and so satisfying.

what i have “seen” far exceeds what i have heard.  these past few years have truly been a valley for me, one that i know i have not walked through alone.  He has been my Comforter.  He has walked with me through the fire, and i have not been burned.  when the storms have raged all around me, i have not been overcome, because He has been my refuge, my shelter from the storm.

my heart’s desire for this coming year is to know my Jesus even more than i do now.  i want to go deeper.  i want my life to spill over with the fragrance of my Saviors sweet hand on my life.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

