Skip to content

goals for the new year….

December 7, 2010

i’ve never really liked the idea of setting New Year’s resolutions….for me, it sounds like an invitation to fail.  so instead, i choose to set goals for the new year. 

this year, i feel as though the Lord has been prompting me to make some new goals and i thought i’d share them with you.

~ to be in the Word, not only daily but throughout my day as well.  i am finding that i need constant reminders of God’s promises all throughout my day.  i need to be hearing from him often throughout my day, prompting me to speak Truth to myself and feasting on his life-giving Words.

~ exercise daily.  i have complained a lot this year that i need to exercise more, yet i haven’t disciplined myself to do that regularly.  it’s not going to happen by me just talking about it…i need to stop making excuses and JUST DO IT!  it also helps that my sweet hubby just bought me a new treadmill, so i’m actually excited about walking on it!  Thanks honey, I love you!

~ faithfully and consistently bring my children up in the discipline and instruction of the lord.  God has grown me a lot this past year in the area of being more consistent in my parenting, yet i still see my need to grow in  being faithful to my calling as a mommy….even when it means i have to deal with the same child, the same issue, over and over again.

~ manage my time well.  i have learned something very valuable these past few weeks as i’ve been preparing for Christmas.  I have been planning ahead and dong what needs to be done—even when i’d rather be doing something else (such as sitting down with a good book and eating m&ms.  🙂   )  i can’t tell you the awesome freedom and relief i have experienced by doing this.  i have not been streesed out, i’ve known in advance what my plan for each day is, AND i’ve gotten so much accomplished!  so, i am hoping to carry this beyond the Christmas season and remind myself of this as we settle back into normal life after Christmas.

and while i know that i can only accomplish these things with God’s help, i also know that there is grace for those times when i don’t do things well and that my “standing” before my Savior won’t change depending on how well i do–or don’t do.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 8:16 pm

    Patty, it’s been a while since I stopped by your blog…life’s been full…but I wanted to thank you for blogging. Your transparency is so honoring to the Lord and helpful for us, your readers. Thank you for letting us see God working through you. It inspires me to grow as well.

    Love,
    Katie

Leave a Reply

