Skip to content

an authentic mommy is all they need…..

November 22, 2010

i blew it today.  again.  instead of keeping my mouth shut and listening, i made wrong assumptions.  and i hurt the feelings of not just one person, but the feelings of 3 people…..  all 3 of them were my children.

when i realized that i was wrong, i felt awful.  i cried.  i asked God to forgive me for not treating my kids with the love and respect that they deserve. 

i did something that i’ve done many, many times in the past.  i asked God why he trusts me to steward these precious kids?  i mean, come on, i fail miserably–and they see that.  sometimes i worry that i wll ruin these kids, because of my imperfect example in their lives.

and that’s when He gently reminds me that His power is made perfect in my weakness.  and that He uses the broken and the weak of this world to do great and awesome things.

i can often forget that God doesn’t expect me to be a perfect mommy, He just wants me to be an authentic mommy.  a mommy who loves her Savior and who is aware that she  needs him, desperately, every second of every day.

He wants me to be a mommy who, when i mess up, humbly goes to my kids and asks for forgiveness…even if it’s the 20th time that day. 

i am so thankful that God can use this imperfect mommy and that all He asks of me is for me to be real.  to be a mommy who messes up and learns from her mistakes. 

2 Corinthians 12:9
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

