Skip to content

Godliness + Contentment =________ Part 1

October 20, 2010

have you ever read something that simply boggled your mind?  maybe it wasn’t even something profound or new…..but maybe something that once you heard it you thought to yourself, “that’s it!!  i can’t believe i didn’t think of that before!”

well, that’s what happened to me this morning.  i was reading a post over at www.preschoolersandpeace.com, and when i read this phrase it just hit me like a ton of bricks:

Godliness + Contentment = Great Gain

i know i’ve heard this before, but today it really stuck.  as i read on in her post, i realized that i can easily replace the contentment portion of the equation with other things…idols.  here’s a list of idols that i can easily come up with in my own life, just to name a few:

~if only my kids would obey, then i’d be happy

~ if only i could lose 5 more pounds…..

~ if only my dad wasn’t dying of alzheimers disease….

~ if only my days ran smoothly, then i could get more done

~ if only …and the list goes on.

ever been there.  there right now?  i know i sure am.  it’s so easy for me to make my equation look like this:

godliness + “if only” = contentment.  please tell me that i’m not the only one who does this?

God used this equation to speak to my heart in a BIG way this morning.  he helped me to see that godliness and contentment go together.  in order for me to grow in godliness, then i must be content with where God has me right now.  not wishing that my life was different. not wishing away the season that i’m in, just because it’s hard.  rather, i need to be finding contentment in Who God is and trusting in his Sovereign plan for my life.

when i am trusting God and trusting in his care over me, then i will find contentment in my life, because my contentment won’t be wrapped up in my circumstances but rather in my God, Who plans to use my circumstances to refine me and make me more like him.

so my definition of this equation is this: when i am striving to grow in godliness and am content in Who God is and in his care over me, then i will have great gain.  i will experience the love of God in ways i never thought possible.  i will experience freedom from trying to hold on to tight to my desires.  i will find new meaning in dying to myself daily and living my life for the One Who gave it to me.

Godliness + Contentment = Great Gain,  Godliness + my desires does not.

 to be continued……

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    October 20, 2010 12:29 pm

    I really liked this one….Godliness plus contentment equals great gain, Godliness plus my desires does not…..I plan to keep that in the forefront of my days from now on!

  2. October 21, 2010 1:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing Patty. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve come back to this – when my contentment is wrapped up in my circumstances, then I am fearful, anxious, overwhelmed, etc. But when I find my hope in the Lord and put my trust in him, then I find true contentment. Thanks for the reminder to trust the Lord today and find my contentment in him!

Leave a Reply

