Skip to content

out of the overflow…..

October 7, 2010

“out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks” 

this verse has been on my mind ever since my little “run-in” with the drive thru wall at Mcdonalds this morning.  you see, what i didn’t share in my earlier post was the fact that i had yelled “something” when i realized i had scraped the front left side of the van on the wall at Mcdonalds. 

at the time, i didn’t even realized i had yelled.  i knew i had reacted, but honestly couldn’t remember what i had said.  after pulling away from mcdonalds and inspecting the “damage”, i turned to savannah and asked her what i had yelled.  what she told me left me stunned..and sad.  it wasn’t like i yelled something horrific, yet for me, it certainly wasn’t something i would say on a regular basis, especially in front of my kids.  and yet, in the moment of crisis–to me, scratching the front of our new van was indeed, a crisis–my mouth spewed out something gross.

45The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

what does that say about what is stored up in my heart?  what does that say about the example i’m being to my children?  i know for a fact that i wouldn’t want them repeating what i said.  and what about the cashier at mcdonalds?  did he witness the behavior of a godly woman?  i should say not. 

i know that we all mess up at times and say things we don’t mean.  i also know that this particular word has slipped out a lot lately…in times of anger under my breath, maybe, but i still said it.  it still came from the overflow of my heart.

now what? well,  i’m not going to sit around beating myself up over this.  but i am going to apologize to my kids for saying that word.  and i am going to meditate on some verses that deal with having a pure heart….such as,

” 14 May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
       be pleasing in your sight,
       O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

more than anything, i want to be characterized by honoring God with my words.  i want my kids to be able to repeat what i say without me being mortified.  i saw this quote earler today and found it so fitting for what my heart desires:

“Live so that when your children think of fairness and integrity, they think of you.” – H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

i want my kids to see their mommy living and acting the same at church as she does at home…their should be no question in their mind who mommy really is.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 7:51 pm

    Isn’t God so kind to use even the little day-to-day moments to conform us more into the image of His Son? I so respect your humility in sharing this and I’m excited for you! God promises to give grace the humble so I know that He will be giving you grace here as you’ve humbled yourself!

    Praise the Lord for the new-life we have in Christ! We aren’t slaves to our sin anymore! We can change by the power of His Spirit! I’ll be praying for you here.

Leave a Reply

