Skip to content

tomorrow is the day…

September 26, 2010

well, tomorrow is the day that i start my dairy elimination diet to determine if what i’m dealing with is acid reflux and dairy intolerance. 

i have to admit, i have been fretting A LOT over this.  i don’t want to avoid dairy and caffeine (caffeine aggravates reflux), and i don’t want to avoid chocolate, and quite frankly, i don’t want to have to monitor everything i eat.

however, as i have been fretting over this and even complaining about it to God when i pray, i feel that God is showing me that this is just another opportunity for me to put my trust in him and to practice self-control.  i have been losing and gaining the same 5 pounds for a while now and have been very discouraged about it.  even though it’s just 5 pounds, i can totally see it and feel it when i’m carrying it around.  i can often catch myself making an idol out of those 5 pounds.  basing my happiness on what the scale says rather than on what Scripture says.

and though i’ve been frustrated over these 5 pounds, i can honestly say that i haven’t been working hard to keep them off.  i’ve been up and down with my eating and i haven’t been exercising at all….unless caring for my kids all day is exercise–that counts, right?

so, that being said, i have come to the conclusion that it’s time for me to suck it up and get back on the wagon with taking care of myself.  it’s time for me to watch what i eat so that i can be healthy (and not just thin) and it’s time for me to exercise so that i can be healthy and strong enough to care for this beautiful family God has entrusted to me.  yeah, so i hate exercising, but no pain, no gain, right????  i mean, if i’m not willing to put in the work, then why should i expect to see the results?  i can see this pattern in other areas of my life at times (funny how patterns can trickle over into other areas, isn’t it?) if i’m not willing to put in the hard work that goes into training my kids, i can’t expect them to be obedient now can i?

so tomorrow doesn’t just start my dairy elimination diet, it also starts my determination to take care of myself and to see this as an opportunity to regain some of the self-control that i let slip since losing all my weight.

i’d love your prayers and feel free to ask me how i’m doing with it….accountability helps a lot!!!!   🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    September 26, 2010 4:39 pm

    Patty, you will definitely be on my mind even more! And in my prayers. Maybe it can be mutual….you are now entering more into my territory…..and it’s not easy. It’s not easy to remember why we have to work this hard…why is it so hard to be us, to be me, to be you….we don’t like it, we wish it wasn’t happening….we fight it because we want it to be easier, and it can’t be. It is the way it must be. And the Lord has brought it to us, so we must trust him to help us through it. For me it’s the depression, the constant discomfort of arthritis, the diabetes that forces me to watch what I eat, and the need for exercise because with all of these conditions the exercise is the mitigating factor. It eases the depression, it strengthens the weary arthritic body, and it controls the blood sugar….but I don’t like it and often feel I do not like the person that I am. I battle this and try to remember it’s not my will but His will, be done. But we are human and weak. He is our strength when we feel we have none. He is our Saviour when we fall. He is our Father when we cry. And He is our greatest blessing. God Bless You in your endeavor! PS…you will get headaches from the lack of caffiene, and they can be so blinding….beware!

  2. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    September 27, 2010 1:31 pm

    He continues to bless us with gifts even though we are whiny and weak….what an awesome God!

Leave a Reply

