Skip to content

reflux….

September 24, 2010

upon investigation, it appears that i may be suffering from reflux, which seems to be caused by my “growing more obvious  everyday” intolerance to dairy.  😦

for quite some time now, i have been dealing w/a constant need to clear my throat and hoarseness. because i have enviromental allergies, i have been relating the hoarseness to my allergies.  however, i have been getting weekly allergy shots for almost a year now, and the only symptom that has gotten worse instead of better is the hoarseness.

my intolerance to dairy started out small, with me just being uncomfortable after eating to much dairy at one time.  it has now escalated into me being literally sick and bloated when eating even a smaller amount of dairy.  

after speaking with my allergist and a nurse/friend of mine yesterday, i found out that the 2 (reflux and dairy intolerance) work together to cause these problems i’m having.  my allergist told me to try a dairy elimination diet for 2-3 weeks to see if my symptoms improve, which i’m NOT crazy about.  however, i also found out that if it is indeed reflux and i continue to eat the foods that are causing it, i could be setting myself up for serious health problems.

i know this isn’t a major deal in the whole scheme of things, and i know it could be much much worse, but i have to admit that i am not crazy about going completely dairy free.  i don’t want the hassle and hard work that will come with doing this elimination diet, bit because i want to feel better and prevent further problems, i know i need to do it. 

i plan to start the diet on monday and would love for those of you who know me to be praying for me that i would stick with it for the 3 weeks and that if it turns out to be reflux/dairy intolerance, that i would be able to find the right balance in my diet from here on out.

after my success w/losing almost 30 pounds on weight watchers, i know i can discipline myself to do this for the 3 weeks; however, i don’t want the work of it being a lifetime change.  but if this is what the Lord has for me, then i want to receive it gladly and be content in the lot he has chosen for me.

~ patty

One Comment leave one →
  1. elisabeth permalink
    September 25, 2010 7:48 am

    I will be praying for you these next few weeks. I can remember how hard the first few weeks were, especially with meal planning & figuring out what I could and could not eat. Feel free to email me if you’re in need of recipes.

Leave a Reply

