Skip to content

school is under way

September 23, 2010

well, we are on week 2 of school and i am finally feeling like we’re finding our niche.  i have to admit, it hasn’t been easy.  as a matter-of-fact, it’s been downright hard!  there have been days of wondering “what on earth am i doing?”  “am i crazy to think that i can teach these kids?” and “God, are you sure that i’m worthy of the calling you’ve given me?”

last week was crazy and it just seemed like i’d never find the right “way” to get it all done.  this week started out no better.  finally, i decided on tuesday to share my struggles w/a few friends.  the first one asked me a profound question: “Patty, are you earnestly seeking God for help in this?  Because he knows you and your kids and He will give you practical ideas.”  Wow.  I needed to hear that.  i had been praying, but my prayers were more along the lines of, “Lord, help me to get through this day…and to keep my hair in the process.”  🙂

so i began to seek God and ask him for pracitcal ideas and ways to plan our days so that each child’s needs are met AND so that i don’t walk around in constant frustration. 

~ and God faithfully met me. ~

 the very afternoon that i had started praying about it, i came across a friend (and fellow homeschooler) who casually shared with me what their school days looked like.  5 minutes into the conversation, God showed me ways that i could change things around in order to make things more doable.  i left my friend’s house encouraged and feeling equipped.  that visit, combined with the insight from the other friends i had shared these struggles with, left me filled with great ideas and HOPE.

I sat down last night and wrote out a plan and decided to implement that plan today.  do you know what?  IT WORKED!!!!! 

 every one had a place to be and something to do…and they liked what they were doing.  i had arranged the schedule so that i would have 30 minutes of one-on-one time with each child, and the others were all busy doing either school work or other activities while i worked with each schooler….and it worked.

  i wasn’t going crazy, the kids weren’t running around  like crazy while they waited for me to help them, and the morning was peaceful…well, somewhat peaceful.  there was still the chaos that comes with having a large family, but it was peaceful chaos.

i don’t know why i ever doubt God’s faithfulness to provide.  he doesn’t just provide food and clothing; he provides everything we need AND he delights in giving us what we need for life and godliness (and school!)

and as for my question wether or not God finds me worthy to teach these precious kids he gave me, i know that i am worthy because of what Jesus did for me on the cross.  🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

