Skip to content

the greatest things about being a mom…

September 9, 2010

how true this is…..i read it today on a site that was promoting Ann Voskamp from a holy experience at http://aholyexperience.com      Ann is a wonderful godly mother who truly does understand the heart of a mama.

Greatest thing about being a mom—

Love.

What would have ever taught me love like laying a vulnerable, curled human being into my arms and saying, “Here. Tend my lambs.” I had known romantic love. But until that moment, I had never known primal, startling electrifying love. A love that would strip back everything, lay me bare and ashamed before myself and God, a love that would show me how little I knew about selfless, realest love.

Joy and pain are different arteries of but the same heart pumping love through our lives and these children have parented me into truest love. The kind that holds her tongue and dies to self and laughs out loud and rocks and rocks and rocks and listens to crazy boy dreams while washing the dishes and picks up the strewn shoes without saying a word and makes another meal and says yes to the glorious mess and holds on tight while letting go. Without a doubt, the six greatest days of my life were the days my skin gave way to the new skin of these half dozen.

The greatest of these really is love and they show me how everyday.

Hardest thing about being a mom—
That I am the mom. That I fail. That I’m in this skin with all of this sin and I can’t snap my fingers and become the mom I want to be. The hardest thing about being a mom is that I am me and I get it wrong and the days I holler about having to pick up the strewn shoes and I do the day miserable and I am selfish and what I know in my head, may still leave my heart woefully impotent. I’m discovering that all my failures are a failure to love and that wounds these six that I love wildly.

Sometimes forgiving yourself is the hardest thing of all.

Isn’t grace always the most beautiful thing? I never stop clinging to it. And I never get over it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    September 13, 2010 3:08 pm

    Patty, thanks for sharing that, it lifted me. Being a mom is truly hard to describe. Yet it is a wonderous gift while be the toughest challenge. And one never stops being a mom, the heart deals with the same emotions even when the children are no longer children. And emotions and love are magnified and more magnificent when one becomes a grandmother….What an awesome gift from our Lord are those children of our children!

Leave a Reply

