Skip to content

refining…..

August 29, 2010

as i was listening to the radio this morning a song came on that  spoke right to my heart: 

Nothing can separate
Even if I ran away
Your love never fails

I know I still make mistakes, but
You have new mercy for me everyday
Your love never fails

Chorus:
You stay the same through the ages
Your love never changes
There may be pain in the night
But joy comes in the morning

And when the oceans rage
I don’t have to be afraid
Because I know that you love me
And your love never fails

Verse 2:
The wind is strong and the water’s deep, but
I’m not alone here in these open seas
Cause your love never fails

The chasm was far too wide
I never thought I’d reach the other side
But your love never fails

Bridge:
You make all things, work together for my good

many times during my walk through my dad’s alzheimers, i have found myself asking God why my dad has to be sick and why i had to lose so much of him at such a young age.  i’ve asked him why it has to hurt so much and why my mom has to be alone at such a young age.  i’ve asked many, many questions of God throughout this journey, especially in the past few weeks. 

for whatever reason, God used this song to answer those questions this morning.  this song is based on Romans 8:28-29,28And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. 29For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.

i’ve read and memorized this passage of Scripture many times, but it never  hit home with me like it did today.  through this song and passage of Scripture, i felt like God was telling me that He has a purpose in my dad’s alzheimers.  even though it hurts and i hate it, God IS using it for his glory.  he is using it to refine me and others in my family who know and love my dad. 

he helped me to see that he is using this journey to refine me and make me more like him.  he is using it draw me close to him, to help me realize my desperate need for Him. 

this passage was a great reminder to me that because i love God and am called according to his purpose, ALL things WILL work together for my good.  so even though it doesn’t feel good at the time, i can be confident that God is using it for my good. 

it was a good reminder to me that when i’m doubting God i need to reflect more on his character and on what he’s already done for me.  i have indeed tasted and seen that the Lord is good and that his love never fails, and knowing this about him should give me confidence that He can and will walk me through the hard times.

the hard times will inevitably come because we live in a fallen world, but it’s so comforting to know that i will never have to walk through them without God.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carolyn Johnson permalink
    August 30, 2010 6:08 pm

    Patty,
    It sounds like you are more calm and accepting of the reality you are dealing with. Rest assured that you have many friends to help you and support you, not the least of which is your husband. What a blessing to have such a gift, a husband to care for you in good times and bad, to walk with you and support you. And times like these always bring to mind Jeremiah 29:11, a favorite of mine because it reminds me that the Lord is good and is wise and I should always remember, it’s not my plan but His plan.

Leave a Reply

