Skip to content

a grumbly heart……

March 10, 2010

i’ve had a grumbly heart lately……complaining about the constant flow of toys that always seem to be on the floor, complaining about the lack of obedience that i’m seeing in my kids right now, when all i’m doing is complaining rather than correcting them, complaining that the list of things to do NEVER seems to end, ….. and after all, don’t i deserve a break??????

during my quiet time this morning, the Lord graciously and lovingly pointed me to this verse, Proverbs 19:14~let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.   

another version of that verse ends it with, “my Strength and my Redeemer.”  and isn’t that what He is to me, my Strength and my Redeemer?  am i aware of that Truth as i walk through my days, grumbling about the non-stop flow of activities that make our house a home?  are my words acceptable to the Lord?  and am i meditating on Him if i am complaining?

if my heart is meditating on the Lord, then rather than complaining about the constant state-of-disaster that myhouse is in, shouldn’t i be thanking the Lord for the precious “mess-makers” (aka…my children  🙂  )He has graciously given to me? 

and rather than complaining about the never ending to-do list, shouldn’t i be thanking Him for allowing me the awesome privilege of staying home with my kids rather than being away from them all day?

yeah, i may be tired (ok, exhausted) by the end of each day (or mid-afternoon, in most cases) but, isn’t his power made perfect in my weakness?

what an awesome privilege i have to know him as my Rock(Strength) and my Redeemer…..it’s he who redeems me from the pit of despair…when i can’t see my way out of my overwhelmedness…..He redeems my life from the pit.

i am so thankful that he loves me enough to make me aware of my sinfulness, of my tendency to  stray from what i know is true….he’s always before me with open arms, reminding me of his love.

and you know, someday i will miss all the messes and may even wonder what to do with my spare time (there is such a thing as spare time, i think…?)

i read this prayer in the Valley of Vision this morning…i totally believe that God brought me to this one today.

The Giver:

Creator, Upholder and Proprietor of all things, we cannot escape from thy presence and control, nor do we desire to do so.

our privilege is to be under the agency of thy omnipotence, righteousness, wisdom, patience, mercy and grace;

for thou art Love with more than parental affection.  we admire thy goodness, stand in awe of thy power, abase ourselves before thy purity. 

it is the discovery of thy goodness alone that can banish our fear, allure us into thy presence, help us to bewail and confess our sins.  we review our past guilt and are aware of present unworthiness.

we bless thee that thy steadfast love and attributes are essential to our happiness and hope; 

Thou hast witnessed to us thy grace and mercy in the bounties of nature, in the fulness of thy providence, in the revelations of Scripture, in the gift of thy Son, in the proclamation of the gospel.

make us willing to be saved in thy own way, perceiving nothing in ourselves but sll in Jesus.

help us not only to receive him but to walk in him, depend upon him, commune with him, follow him as dear children, imperfect, but still pressing forward, not complaining of labour, but valuing rest, not murmuring under trials, but thankful for our state.  and by so doing let us silence the ignorance of foolish men.

i’m so thankful that Jesus lovingly meets me right where i am……

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

