Skip to content

Amazing grace…..

January 25, 2010

it’s definitely MONDAY around here today.  for whatever reason, mondays are hard in our house.  maybe it’s from the busyness of the weekend, the late nights over the weekend, the fact that daddy’s back at work….i’m not sure exactly what it is that causes it, but monday’s are HARD!

the kids are now having their recess time and are down in the basement…the plan is for them to PLAY together, but it seems to be turning into WW3…not pretty.  i feel as though i should be wearing a referee uniform rather than my everyday clothes….again, not pretty.

as i have struggled to get through this morning, helping one child after another, breaking up one conflict after another, and basically trying NOT to pull my hair out, i was reminded of this quote i heard a while back:

Your worst days are never so bad that you are beyond the reach of God’s grace, and your best days are never so good that you are beyond the need of God’s grace.

how sweet of God to remind me of that this morning.  i am so quick to forget that i need Him every second of every day…i am nothing without Him.  and how tempted i am to think that just because i had my devotions this morning that the day would be perfect……how on earth could the day be perfect when this house is currently filled with 6 sinners until daddy comes home???

and why do i forget that my kids are sinners in need of a Savior just like i am?  i get so shocked by their behavior at times, when i need to just expect it.  after all, do I change overnight? 

i am so thankful to God for meeting me right where i am…..i had just sent the kids down to play and within 5 minutes (ok, maybe it was actually 2 minutes!) i had a couple of kids screaming at each other and another one coming up to tattle.  i was just starting to say, “i can’t believe this” when the Lord stopped me and instead, i said, “i am not at all surprised by this.”  what a difference that made in my response to my kids…..i was able to walk through their “problem” with them, correct whoever needed corrected, and move on.   until 5 minutes later when it happended again.  🙂

Lord, thank you for reminding me this morning that your amazing grace is  truly that…amazing.  thank you for helping me to see that i need you…all day long.  thank you for showing me my own sinful heart, so that i can help my kids see thiers.  and thank you that your Son made it possible for me to have access to you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

