Skip to content

My sweet miracle…….

November 20, 2009

It’s hard to believe that my 2nd oldest daughter is 9 years-old today.  I still remember finding out I was pregnant w/her and the despair I felt when the doctor told us that he felt that I would miscarry Kaitlin….my hormone levels were extremely low and were not doubling as they should, we couldn’t find a heart beat, and her little body was measuring to small for her gestational age.  the doctor told me to come back in 10 days, but to not be surprised if I miscarried before then.  I remember crying in Greg’s arms and praying for God to save our sweet baby.  I remember going to church that Sunday and asking friends to lay hands on us and pray for a miracle, which they did.  When we went back in at the 10-day mark, I can not tell you the elation we felt when w/in seconds of the doctor putting the doppler on my tummy we saw a baby on the screen….a baby that had bascially tripled in size, and not only that, but we saw the heartbeat….the strong, fast heartbeat of a healthy baby!!  the doctor looked at me with a puzzled look on his face and says to me, “I don’t know what to day.  Your pregnancy is not going by my medical book.”  and I looked at him through eyes filled with tears and said, “no, of course not; our baby is going according to God’s book!”  7 months later, Kaitlin Grace was born and our lives have never been the same.  This sweet little girl is definitely an expression of God’s grace in our lives….she is so full of the love of God and is always looking for someone to share the gospel with.  this past summer, she was sharing the gospel with our unsaved neighbor kids and everytime a church function is announced, Kaitlin is thinking of who she can invite.  she is characterized by always putting others first, no matter the cost.  You know, we’re always asking our kids who they want to be like when they grow up, but I can honestly say w/out a doubt that I want to be like Kaitlin…….

Thank you Lord for the sweet, precious gift of Kaitlin in our lives.  Thank you for the influence she has on me and on her siblings and thank you for the great work you are doing in her life.  I want to thank you most of all for opening Kaitlin’s eyes to the gospel and for giving her a love for you and your ways.  Oh, that I would have the faith of this sweet child…….

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

