Skip to content

Sweet reminder……

November 19, 2009

Last night we had the privilege of having 5 sweet little girls over to celebrate Kaitlin’s birthday.  It was so fun (and loud!!)  🙂    I had agreed to give a couple of the girls a ride home after the party and while I was waiting for one of the girls to get her coat and shoes on it occurred to me that I was waiting patiently for this little girl while she was struggling to zip her coat.  Sounds nice enough, right?  well, it would be, except for the fact that I realized at that point that I often times am not patient with my own kids.  when they need (or want) my attention when I’m in the middle of something else, when they are taking a little longer to do something that I think could be done faster,  when they call my name and I’ve had just “enough” of the noise going on around me….etc, and the list could go on and on.  It makes me so sad (and a bit disgusted) that it is so easy for me to be patient and kind to someone else’s kids, yet I struggle daily to be that way with my own kids.  What does that day about my heart?  It tells me that I am selfish and not putting others before myself.  God has been reminding me a lot lately of the verse in Matthew16:24…Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.”  and Matthew 20:28 ~ “even as the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”  The Truth of these verses is so sobering to me….how often do I wake up in the morning with the intent of serving my family JOYFULLY and by breakfast have been frustrated by having to serve them??   it basically boils down to the fact that I desire and CRAVE ease more than I desire laying down my life for my kids.  God didn’t put me on this earth for my pure enjoyment and EASE….he never promised that I could sit around doing whatever I want while my kids play happily and never argue or need my attention.  He put me here for His glory and gave me my children so that I could raise them for HIS glory.    I am committing right now to meditating on those 2 verses every morning in my quiet time and am praying that God will help me to daily lay down my life for the precious babies he has given me.  🙂

Lord, thank you for so willingly laying down your life for MY sake……help me  daily, minute by minute, to lay down my life for these precious kids you have given to me.  Let them see the light of your love in my words and actions towards them.  Thank you that your mercies are new every morning and that you are for me as I raise these precious kids. ~

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

