Skip to content

it’s ALL about believing…..

October 15, 2011

i

love how God uses other people to reveal things to us about our own hearts.

i’ve been struggling lately with self-discipline.

only it wasn’t until this morning that i was able to realize the root of my problem.

as i was readingConnie’s post at Smockity Frocks, it was if God had spoken directly to my heart.

Connie was talking about doing hard things.  i love this quote by Connie, she says:

Doing hard things is… hard. But if you are determined, and if you believe you can do it through Christ who strengthens you, you can get through it.

now to some people, that comment may not sound too profound.

but for someone like me, who struggles with consistency and self-discipline, it blew me away.

i pondered it for a while, deciding to save the email (i receive her posts via email—you might want to as well, she’s good!!), and moved on to the next email in my inbox.

this one was from Inspired to Action, where Kat had a guest post from her friend, Katie Orr.

wanna know the topic of her post?

The secret to abundant life throughout our day  :

  1. The Need for Self-Discipline
  2. The Need for Dependence—on Christ

Need i say more?

i was floored.

i mean, here i am, already blown away by God for using Connie’s post to help me see my lack of faith in Christ to help me do the hard things i need to do, but then He goes and uses this awesome post by katie to help me see that in order to recieve the abundant life he has for me, i need to be both self-controlled and disciplined.

I love how katie puts it,

How foolish can you be? After starting your Christian lives in the Spirit, why are you now trying to become perfect by your own human effort? (Galatians 3:3 NLT)

I must learn to become dependent on the Spirit of God. My best efforts are futile without the working of the Holy Spirit in my life.

Even if I were to find a way to manage my every step, there is no way I could even touch the construction needed to be done in my heart. That is a work of God alone.

i realized that the root of my inconsistency is a lack of trust in God.  not trusting that he will give me what i need to be consistent and faithful.

i also realized that i can try all day long to be consistent and self-disciplined, but if i’m trying to do it in my own strength, without the help of God, then i will fail.  each and every time.

i need to bring this struggle before God, each and every day and ask him to order my day.  i need him to show me what’s most important in my day and to help me accomplish just that.

i need him to help me figure out the best way for me to fit in exercise and all the other things that i’ve been slacking in, because you know what?

he cares about those things.

and if i trust him to direct my paths, he will show me the perfect time of day for me to do each and every thing he has called me to do.

but i have to do my part too.

and it starts with self-discipline and dependence on Christ.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

